stop assuming you know how I feel

The internet wars are funny. In that they are funny because they are sad. Mommy wars. Wars between parents and non-parents. Dog people and cat people. People who live with chronic illness and those that don’t. Pokemon Go players and those that have no idea what a pokemon is.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 5.25.17 PM

Another morning and another meme telling me I don’t know what exhaustion is because I don’t have children. Excuse me? I don’t know what exhaustion is? Just because I voluntarily chose not to have children? Because I am already exhausted from working retail with chronic illnesses? Because of those chronic illnesses I am either kept up all night tossing and turning because I can’t get comfortable, or if I do sleep, it’s not quality sleep, again because the server that is my brain is sending pain signals all over my body because nerves misfire and keep saying wtf?

Tell me again how I don’t know what exhaustion is because I don’t have some pain in the ass toddler waking me up at 5 am. Oh wait, I do. It comes in the form of a 5 month old puppy and he at least lets me sleep until 630 am.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 5.31.23 PM

You my dear friend of this horrible and judgy meme, are exhausted because you have become a slave to your toddler.  Because you don’t know how to say no when the king toddler demands roasted chicken at 10 pm and you have to roast a chicken because you can’t say no. What are you teaching your kid then? That they can have whatever they want? Now you’re just raising an asshole. This is why you’re exhausted. I am exhausted because my body hates me and nothing can really be done. End of story. But tell me again how your exhaustion is worse than mine.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 5.38.58 PM

Why can’t it be equal? Or the same? Or even different? Why must it be worse? Why must there be this war between parents and non parents? I’m more tired than you because I have kids. Ok … you chose to have kids. Or maybe you didn’t, whatever. but you have them now, you have to suck it up buttercup and deal with it. I do with my chronic pain. and my migraines. and my other issues. But I try not to make others feel less than because they don’t have those issues and when they mention they are exhausted, I don’t respond with “oh yeah? try having xyz disorder”. I ask “oh yeah? what happened?” or depending on the person, “oh yeah? whats her name?”

So take your judgment and put it in your back pocket and take that time it took you to make these memes and type out your hateful responses to us “non parents”, and take a nap.

if you need motivation, pretend this fella is your body pillow

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 5.26.27 PM

Leave a Reply

