i didn’t shave for a month … and i felt nothing

except hairy, my deodorant worked overtime and my hair looks manly.

I love those click bait-y articles that are all “I tried this for a week… and the results …wow!”

Well, this isn’t one of those times.

I did not feel empowered, more feminist, or any of that other bullshit some other women say they feel when they give up shaving their armpits or legs. I felt gross. I felt dirty. And not in a good way.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 9.14.33 PM

I ran out of razors and I just kept forgetting to pick some up and its a “eh whatever”. I wear blazers to work and I am mostly in pants anyway so it wasn’t like “lets see if a chefs knife will do this or maybe that rusty blade at the bottom of the tool box…”

For me, growing out body hair is not a sense of empowerment or a stand for feminism. If it is for you, go for it. It does cut out time in the shower and if your growth factor is anything like mine, you need to go at it with a weed whacker anyway.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 9.25.23 PM

Empowerment and feminism should be more embraced in actual acts done by women for women. Helping others, holding each other up. Not growing out body hair. Or posting nude selfies. Not quite sure which either of those prove. Other than the obvious- you’re naked and hairy. But celebrating women who achieve great things- thats empowerment. That’s celebrating feminism.

So hairy or not, nude or not, true acts of feminism and women empowerment have nothing to do with these things. Go support a women’s cause, read a good book by a woman author, and just support each other.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 9.33.09 PM

and because he’s just too pretty for words…

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 9.11.51 PM

Leave a Reply

